February 2, 2017 by  
Filed under Division IV News

DALLAS DECEMBER 27, 2016– The NHRA has announced today that Raymond Martin will be inducted into NHRA’s South Central Division 4 Hall of Fame.

NHRA’s Division 4 is the historic South Central Division home of “The Good Guys.” Division 4 features tracks from Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Louisiana. The Division 4 Hall of Fame honors individuals, drivers and officials who laid the groundwork for NHRA Drag Racing in the region. Raymond Martin will join the likes of Eddie Hill, Raymond Beadle, Kenny Bernstein, Bill Meyer and many more in the South Central Division Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductions will take place during the Division 4 Banquet and Awards Ceremony at the L’Auberge Hotel and Casino in Lake Charles Louisiana Saturday January 7, 2017. Please join us for a Hall of Fame Reception prior to the Division 4 Banquet and Awards ceremony. There we will have an open forum during the Hall of Fame Reception about Raymond’s racing accomplishments.
“The NHRA and South Central Division are pleased to induct Raymond Martin into the South Central Division Hall of Fame,” said Trey Capps, Division 4 director. “He has a rich and successful history of racing in Division 4 and has earned his respective place in the Hall of Fame.”

From Raymond’s 1st NHRA race in 1967 in Opelousas, La until today he has amassed five(5) Division 4 championships: 1971 Modified Eliminator Champion, 1974 Pro Stock Championship, 1976, 1989, and 1998 Competition Eliminator Championships. . He has won division championships in three classes Modified, Pro Stock, and Competition Eliminator. His final round appearances stretch out over 4 decades, with Raymond being in a final round in the70’s, 80’s, 90’s, and 00’s. Raymond’s Division titles are also spread out over 3 decades, with 3 Division 4 titles in the 70’s, one in the 80’s, and one in the 90’s. Raymond has won 15 Divisional events and 5 National events, including the coveted Indianapolis National Event and Sports Nationals Bowling Green, Ky. Raymond has finished in the top ten nationally twice in is racing carrier as well as competed in National event finals from Baton Rouge, LA. all the way to Seattle, WA.
Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.